Friday, October 9, 2009

The Nobel Peace Prize 2009

The Nobel Committee has awarded President Barack Obama the Peace Prize "for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples."

Other sitting and former U.S. Presidents that have received the award:

2002 - Jimmy Carter -- former
1919 - Woodrow Wilson -- sitting
1906 - Theodore Roosevelt – sitting

A list of all Nobel peace laureates is here:

See also: Coverage by the NY Times, President Obama's full remarks

-- Patrick Flanagan

No comments: