Monday, April 9, 2012

International Law Book Awards

The American Society of International Law has announced its 2012 awards in a number of areas. Here are the authors and books that were honored.
  • Nico Krisch, Beyond Constitutionalism: The Pluralist Structure of Postnational Law (2011) — ASIL Certificate of Merit for a preeminent contribution to creative scholarship. The Awards Committee said that Kirsch "defends a pluralist account of international law – one that lacks hierarchically orientated actors or norms." His book’s "thought-provoking analysis stands to reframe debates about the nature of international law," the report went on to say.Publisher's page.

  • International Law in the U.S. Supreme Court: Continuity and Change (David L. Sloss, Michael D. Ramsey & William S. Dodge eds., 2011) – Certificate of Merit for high technical craftsmanship and utility to practicing lawyers and scholars. The Awards Committee stated that the book presents "a comprehensive and thoughtful look at a body of law that, while existing, has not previously been brought to light." This work "promises to be the preeminent reference source in its field." Publisher's page.

  • Sundhya Pahuja, Decolonising International Law: Development, Economic Growth, and the Politics of Universality (2011) – Certificate of Merit in a specialized area of international law. Pahuja "provides an important contribution to international development law and Third World Approaches to International Law scholarship," the Awards Committee said. This work helps illuminate "problematic dynamics in the international legal system and pathways towards a more equitable approach." Publisher's page.

  • Ruti Teitel, Humanity’s Law (2011) – Honorable Mention in a specialized area of international law for Humanity’s Law. Publisher's page.
Last year's winners were:
And the winners from 2010 were:

No comments: